Fall Engineering Design Celebration

Wednesday, December 14th, 2022 | 2 pm – 7 pm

Clayton Hall, University of Delaware | Newark, DE

The University of Delaware boasts one of the premier engineering design education programs in the country. The 2022 Fall Engineering Design Celebration is a half-day conference that showcases and celebrates our engineering students’ many accomplishments this semester. This year’s celebration features teams of students in the following design categories:

Interdisciplinary Senior Engineering Design

Mechanical Engineering Junior Design

Industrial Design

E3 High School Partners


Technical Presentations

Student teams will deliver in-person technical presentations at Clayton Hall. See Design Category below for detailed presentation schedule and room locations, and click here for map of Clayton Hall conference rooms.


Interdisciplinary Senior Engineering Design

Interdisciplinary Senior Engineering Design is the capstone design course in the Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering Programs. The showcase features final technical presentations and a perpetual project gallery for all 47 of our student teams.

Team # Project Name Sponsor Room # Time
101 Training model for a minimally invasive procedure for the left heart pathology Abbott Auditorium 128 3:00-3:30
102 Improved Slurry Addition Device Agilent Technologies Room 101B 2:00-2:30
103 Hydrogen refueling station safety improvements Air Liquide Room 124 5:15-5:45
104 Optimization of aircraft engine cowling Andrew Meyer (Engineer, Northrop Grumman) Room 125 2:00 – 2:30
105 EDM Fatigue Testing Machine ASML Room 119 2:00-2:30
106 Wearable Postpartum Hemorrhage Healthcare Simulator Avkin Room 101A 4:15-4:45
107 Water System Calibration Process Improvement Bloom Energy Room 125 3:45 – 4:15
108 Dielectric Leak Tester Project Bloom Energy Room 123 4:15 – 4:45
109 Sonic Vibration System for Molded Chocolate CHL Systems Room 123 4:45 – 5:15
110 Combine feeder crop sample door CNH Room 124 3:30 – 4:00
111 Mechanism to Control Placement of a Color Measuring Instrument on a Sample Datacolor Room 101B 2:30 – 3:00
112 Thickness Uniformity Measurement Set-up for CVD Diamond Wafers Applied Diamond Inc Room 119 2:30 – 3:00
113 Design and Fabrication of Drone Bodies & Propellers DowAksa Room 125 4:15 – 4:45
114 Multi-Station Creep Testing Equipment DuPont Room 121 4:15 – 4:45
115 Golf Ball-Club Impact Replicator Fujikura Room 101B 3:00 – 3:30
116 Improved Suture Diameter Measurement Fixture J&J – Ethicon Inc Room 121 4:45 – 5:15
117 Robotic Joint Characterization for Next Gen Surgical Robot J&J – Ethicon Inc Room 124 4:45 – 5:15
118 Automated Total Dissolved Solids (TDS) measurement system Keurig Dr Pepper Room 123 5:15 – 5:45
119 EDM Autofill Attachment KVI Room 101B 3:45 – 4:15
120 Play Center Redesign Melissa & Doug Toys Room 101A 4:45 – 5:15
121 Filler and Capper for Cirkul Norwalt Design Room 125 2:30 – 3:00
122 TrimPAC EZ Static Elimination Precision Air Convey Room 119 3:00 – 3:30
123 Bulk System Fluids Bottle Stopper/Crimp Assembly Automation Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics Room 101B 4:15 – 4:45
124 Liquid Waste Vacuum Separator Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics Room 125 3:00 – 3:30
125 Plier Mechanical Advantage and Cut Force Tester Stanley Black & Decker Room 124 4:15 – 4:45
126 Build-a-Clamp Stanley Black & Decker Room 121 5:15-5:45
127 High performance quiet dustbuster hand vacuum Stanley Black & Decker Room 125 4:45 – 5:15
128 Mechanical separation of darkling beetles from poultry litter prior to field application UD Agricultural Entomology Lab Room 120 4:15 – 4:45
129 Redesign of a training device to ensure humane euthanasia for avian species UD Agriculture: Dr. Brian Ladman Auditorium 128 2:00 – 2:30
130 Soil Surface Displacement Sensors UD Plant & Soil Sciences: Sparks Lab Auditorium 128 2:30 – 3:00

Mechanical Engineering Junior Design

Machine Design is a core junior year mechanical engineering design course featuring a real-world manufacturing and automation challenge from two local industry sponsors, Norwalt Design and Omega Design. The showcase features end-of-semester technical presentations for 15 separate student teams at the midpoint of their two-semester project, which involves the design, manufacture, and validation of an autonomous bottle fill station.

Table by Visualizer

Special thanks to our local industry sponsors, Norwalt Design and Omega Design:

Industrial Design

Introduction to Industrial Design is a technical elective in the Mechanical Engineering department that focuses on user-centered design principles and mixed-methods iterative prototyping. For this first year of the course, UD Mechanical Engineering has partnered with Stanley Black & Decker to re-imagine real world products in their hand and power tools division.

Stanley Black & Decker is a Fortune 500 American manufacturer of industrial tools and household hardware based in Baltimore, Maryland. The company’s iconic and trusted brands are known for outstanding performance for end-users ranging from professional tradespersons to do-it-yourselfers. SBD-HTAS is responsible for brands including DeWalt, Black & Decker, Craftsman, Irwin, and many more.

Technical Presentations & Prototype Demonstrations – 2-4 pm – Clayton Hall Room 101A

High School Design Showcase

Student teams from local high schools show off their mid-year and end-of-term design projects as part of the UD College of Engineering’s Engineering Education Ecosystem (E3) Program. The showcase features poster presentations and a pitch competition from area high schools including Brandywine High School, Concord High School, and Padua Academy.

Poster Presentation & Pitch Competition in the lobby area from 4-5 pm.

Awards Ceremony

Please join us for a live webinar session to celebrate our students’ achievements starting at 6 pm in the Clayton Hall Auditorium (Room 128). This event is open to the public, and students, alumni, friends and family are all welcome.

Senior Design Project Gallery

Browse the Project Gallery below to find out more about our senior design teams, their sponsors, and to watch brief video overviews of their project outcomes. Please note that materials for some teams are restricted due to intellectual-property concerns.


We sincerely thank this year’s senior design sponsors for their support of this program.


Agilent Technologies

Air Liquide

Applied Diamond



Bloom Energy

CHL Systems

CNH Industrial





Johnson & Johnson – Ethicon Inc

Keurig Dr Pepper


Melissa & Doug LLC

Andrew Meyer


Norwalt Design

Precision Air Convey

Siemens Healthcare

Stanley Black & Decker



Under Armour


University of Cape Town, South Africa

University of Delaware

  • College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
    • Crossley Laboratory
    • Ladman Laboratory
    • Sparks Laboratory
  • Dept. Athletics
  • Dept. Biomedical Engineering: Elliott Laboratory
  • Dept. Mechanical Engineering: Van Buren Laboratory

Faculty Advisors

Sonia Bansal, PhD

Jenni Buckley, PhD

David Burris, PhD

Alex De Rosa, PhD

Curtis Johnson, PhD

Julie Karand, PhD

Michael Keefe, PhD

Ashutosh Khandha, PhD

Ajay Prasad, PhD

Sarah Rooney, PhD

Mike Santare, PhD

Steve Timmins, PhD

Tyler Van Buren, PhD

Adam Wickenheiser, PhD

Thank You


Many thanks are in order to the staff members who help our students with technical and logistical issues throughout the course of the semester.

The Design Studio & Student Machine Shop Staff: Whitney Sample, Scott Nelson, and Ron Cantrell, Also the TAs in the Design Studio and Machine Shop

Administrative Support: Elaine Nelson, Amy Adams, Ann Connor, Allie Andrews, Michele Schwander, Cynthia Papettas, Melanie Smith, Nancy England, Amanda Ramsaran, Vicky Tosh-Morelli, and Kristin Schmidt.

We sincerely thank this year’s guest evaluators for their support of this program.